Earth Month- 3rd Party Fundraising and #AVEDACleanWater

As April comes to a close, I am once again blown away by the generosity of others who raise money for our cause.  Currently, I work for an environmental non-profit and for the past seven years, AVEDA has supported clean water all over the world during Earth Month.  We don’t have any kind of total yet, but we know that it will be more than $130K+ for one month. Have I mentioned that we only have an $825K budget?  This is a HUGE chunk of change.

AVEDA?  You ask?  Hair styling, hair care, massages and makeup…. and the environment?  Why does this work?

1.  It’s good for their business.  It adds power to their brand.  Our supporters buy there.  Their clients feel good about the environment. And the stylists and retail folks feel great about where they work.

2.  I would do ANYTHING for my hairstylist.  I have been going to him for 20 years.  I mean THAT is a serious relationship.  If he says to me…”Shana, if you donate, it helps Puget Sound, I could go to India (that’s one real incentive) and I have you trapped here in my chair and I could make you look really, really bad…Moohahahaha!!”

No.  I would do it just because I love my hairstylist.  (Curtis, if you are reading this, we’ll need to talk about funding whatever theatre project you love the most… oh, and I need new color before heading to California at the end of May…)

3.  It’s the greatest marketing for our non-profit.  Can you imagine over 30-40 (or more) salons talking about your non-profit mission every day with all their clients??!!  That is why it works.

Now… here’s what can be tricky…

You will not have complete control.  Unless you create a memorandum of understanding spelling everything out, you won’t always know how your logo is being used, what is being procured in your name, or how you will get the money.  So, I urge EXTREME CAUTION.  Our current cause-related marketing partnership is renewed once per year.  And we trust these AVEDA salons.  We trust them with our brand.  Which is EVERYTHING.

So as Earth Month closes, I am filled with gratitude for each and every one of these stylists, AVEDA retail folks and independent salon owners.  I am so glad they are willing to help Puget Sound, our orcas, our salmon and local waterways.

Check out the AMAZING video Gary Manuel Salon did for Earth Month this year for Puget Soundkeeper Alliance.   Talk about an important partner!

 

Leave a Reply

